Getting Back on Track

Well, getting BACK to getting back on track, I should say.  The past few months have been interesting, to say the least.  When we last met here on this little blog, I was freaking out a bit about making the decision to build a new home, and the impacts that would have on my little family.  That freakout back there?  Nothing compared to what was to come.  Suffice it to say, that it has been a ROUGH couple of months, thanks to a hellish journey brought to me by a little, tiny, anti-anxiety med which I am happy happy happy to now have out of my system completely.  Seems I can really handle my own anxiety, but the magnified anxiety along with severe physical illness that accompanied it while on the med?  No Thanks!  Maybe I’ll tell you more some day, but just know it was ugly.  For far too long.  But, things are much better now.  Oh, and it turns out that we have not bankrupted ourselves as I just KNEW we would, and also it turns out that we’ve got ourselves a really pretty new house to move into next week.  So Yay, US!

And while all this was happening, our little boy has continued to grow and grow…you know you’ve been away from the blog too long, when your 5 year old learns to read and to ride a bike in the time since writing the last blog post!

Adoption-wise, we’re rolling along just fine.  Still trying to find a good time to get together with Woob’s first family–wish they lived closer.  Its been far too long since we’ve seen them.  If you’re praying people, please send a prayer up for their housing and job situation.  Woob is wanting his grandma to take him to see Kung Fu Panda 2, but we’re holding out until we can take him so if he has any questions resulting from what I understand to be a Po-going-on-a-journey-to-find-his-biological-father storyline.  Fairly certain his grandma would answer questions or respond just a bit differently than we would.

So, to recap what’s been happening the past few months:

1.  built home from start to finish in three months

2.  child growing by leaps and bounds

3.  took medication I should never take again in this lifetime, for fear I might die if I do

4.  moving next week

5.  need a vacation I’m not gonna get anytime soon

Hope you’re all enjoying the start of your summer!

 

4 Comments

Filed under adoption

4 responses to “Getting Back on Track

  1. Wow, what a spring! Glad you are feeling more like yourself, and SUPER excited for your move!! Has Woob started losing teeth yet? That was our (well, Mam’s) big accomplishment at the beginning of this month — four teeth in about 10 days. Crazy!

  2. shannon2818

    Wow, you’ve been going through a lot! I’m glad your son is doing well, though. Our daughter is six and she’s been doing great with reading, and I’m hoping we’ll get those training wheels off by the end of summer.

  3. I’m a little late in responding to this, but hope you have a great rest of your summer, and that’s an amazing journey you’ve just taken! Congrats on the new house, and congrats on getting off horrible meds! As a first mother actively trying to continue a relationship with my daughter and her parents (she will be 2 in November), with the possibility that we may be moving across the country in a very short time, I can sympathize with how you and your son’s first parents must feel. I hope and pray that they will find jobs and that if you haven’t gotten together already, that you’ll be able to do so soon!

  4. susiebook

    Congratulations on the new house! I’m sorry to hear that things were rough, and glad that you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

