Who, ME?

When I was in college, I was at a club with friends.  I was standing in the loud, crowded bar area, and across the room on the other side of the bar, there was this really hawt guy (with a 90’s pony tail), yelling to me.  He waved and shouted, “hey, beautiful!  I want to talk to YOU!”  And I smiled and waved back, feeling very pretty, very proud that I could attract such a creature.  Until I realized he was calling to my friend standing right beside me.  Story of my life.  They got married a few years later, by the way, and live happily together with their two pretty children on the other side of town.  True Story.  Anyhoo.

I was feeling much the same when I got an email last week from someone claiming to be from Adoptive Families Magazine, telling me my blog was to be featured in their March/April issue as a “Top Adoption Blog.”  Having been burned once before (or maybe more, I won’t tell), I looked to see if this was somehow a scam/spam–the email equivalent of looking back over my shoulder to make sure they weren’t talking to the pretty girl behind me.  But this time, no mistake.  Someone, somewhere thought I was pretty  had something to contribute to the adoption world through my blog.  Which amazes and thrills me, enough to actually post something after WAAAY too long of a hiatus. 

I’ve seen just a few of the other folks who will also be featured, and I’m beyond humbled to be in their company…I think there are so many different voices that have an important truth to tell, and I’m pleased many will be getting the recognition and increased readership.  I’m anxious to see the whole list, and when the article comes out, I’ll put up links to the others in case you haven’t found them yet.  I can’t wait to see the issue!

12 Comments

Filed under adoption

12 responses to “Who, ME?

  1. Heather

    Congratulations!!! I’ve always thought of us as part of the same bloggy “class” of 2006ish, so it will be especially neat to see you on the list. 🙂

    • M.

      Oh, congrats to you too, Heather! Much deserved! I have to admit I feel a little lost as our “class” has spread out, somewhat disbanded/refocused. The connections made during that first year of blogging were incredible.

  2. Same here. I was trying to think of who else is really left besides us. I see new little classes being formed and it makes me wistful.

  3. Oh very cool, my friend! Congratulations 🙂

  4. shannon2818

    Congratulations!

  5. I found your blog after reading my AF mag this weekend. I hope to be a frequent visitor! Congratulations~

  6. StorkWatcher

    I’m SO far behind on my blog reading that I hadn’t realized you’d done this until I opened my mag yesterday – I was SOOOO proud to actually KNOW this blogger IRL. You have put some very honest and thought-provoking posts out here for your readers – I am so happy to see you be recognized for it!

    Also excited to see Chronicles was mentioned also – Another blog whose writer challenges my a-parent perspective on adoption and makes me really take a look at all sides of the triad.

Leave a Reply

