Summer Reading

Finally, for the first time since Woob came home, it seems there’s enough balance in the household to be able to sit and relax occasionally and read.  Oh, how I’ve missed reading and getting lost in a book or two.  How do I pick my books?  Even though I really think eventually I’ll get a book reader like Kindle, I prefer “real” books that you can go to the bookstore and browse through, look at the cover, hold and feel.  While I’m reading I often like to ruffle the corner edges of the pages over and over–both for the sound and the pleasant feel on my fingers.  Usually, I’ll head over to BN at lunch time, or sometimes even the used book store.  If its BN, I head straight for the newest released paperbacks display, which is right next to the buy two get one free tables.  I’m big on covers, even though they say you can’t judge books by them.  If the cover is boring, I move on.  If the title is interesting, I’ll stop.  I am drawn especially to books with some historical reference, but still fiction.  Not too cheesy, not to romance-y, not too beach read-y.  And as a result, the books I buy are usually a little bit depressing–set in a war, or some such volitile time.  I rarely pick a book based solely on the author, but occasionally that might just tip the scales for a certain title. 

So, since this spring, I’ve read (I think) nine books, and am currently working on number ten.  I’m sure before that, I hadn’t read ten in the past four years put together, so I’m pretty jazzed about it.  Here are the titles that I’ve read so far:

  • Under the Dome ~ Stephen King   (I was a little disappointed at the ending after reading such a long book–apparently SK was just tired of writing)
  • American Wife ~ Curtis Sittenfeld   (Based loosely on the life of Laura Bush, though it is fiction)
  • South of Broad ~ Pat Conroy   (Set in Charleston, and made me think back to a trip I took there once–I recognized some fo the places)
  • Sarah’s Key ~ Tatiana De Rosnay   (Historical-set in WW II Vichy France/modern day.  SAD.  Riveting.  SAD.)
  • The Forgotten Garden ~ Kate Morten   (Historical-set in England/Australia over three genrations.  Could be classified a mystery.  Heavy adoption/identity/loss themes)
  • The Girl She Used to Be ~ David Cristofano   (A light read about a young woman in a witness protection program.  Funny, easy, a little romance.)
  • Dear John ~ Nicholas Sparks   (Romancy, sad, sweet.  I think the movie is coming out soon if it hasn’t already?)
  • The Help ~ Kathryn Stockett   (Reflections on race, class, civil rights, etc. set in the early 60s.)
  • I Was Told There Would Be Cake ~ Sloane Crosley   (Light, short stories about author’s growing up and coming of age.  SO FUNNY.  Lots of references you’ll recognize if you grew up in the mid 80s-90’s.)
  • North River ~ Pete Hamill   (Currently reading and so far, so good.  Set in Depression Era New York City.  This author wrote “Forever” which was a novel I really loved.)

What have YOU read this summer?

4 Comments

Filed under adoption

4 responses to “Summer Reading

  1. thanksgivingmom

    I also read The Forgotten Garden, and really enjoyed it.

    On the vacation I took I finished “The Girl that Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” (the third in a trilogy), The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night (told from the perspective of a teen with [possibly] aspergers – no diagnosis is divulged), “Water for Elephants” (loved it! present day and about 70 years ago at a circus), “A Thousand Splendid Suns” (beautifully written, by the author of “The Kite Runner”).

    I’m working on a goal to read 50 books this year and I *think* I’m on track, but am always looking for more so I just added a couple of your titles to my future reading list!!

  2. have a good series suggestion that i read last spring/summer. the tea rose series by jennifer donnelly. SO good. there are 2 books right now and the 3rd comes out next year i think.

  3. I just read my first book all summer — She’s Gone Country by Jane Porter. It was a fun read!

Leave a Reply

