I Want a Talking Dog for Christmas

That is what my son has told me over and over for weeks now.  Talking dogs are very prevalent on tv and movies these days and its impossible to convince Woob that they don’t indeed exist.  Oh, but he’s in that sweet time in life, where magic really happens, and I’m holding on to that with both hands, trying not to shatter his innocence.

I don’t remember when I found out that Santa wasn’t real.  Could it have been the year my older sister showed me where mom hid all our Christmas presents, and in my parents’ absence we took them all out and played with them for awhile? (Where WERE our parents when we were that little?? I am always telling my mother that we weren’t adequately supervised while we were children, but she doesn’t agree.)  That year, I got corduroys with a roller skate on the back pocket and a Donny and Marie microphone/amplifier.  Very cool.  But none of it came from Santa, and I don’t remember being heartbroken or feeling jaded or betrayed by the “big Santa lie.”   So I guess I’m not too worried about perpetuating that little fantasy of the magic of Santa, since it was such a non-issue in my own life.

Woob is not quite four, but he’s already seen the shows on tv about kids wondering about the “realness” of Santa.  He watched as Will Farrel pulled the beard off “fake” Santa, telling him he “sits on a throne of lies” and “smells like beef and cheese”.  And directly following, saw how song and Christmas Spirit was able to get the “real Santa’s” sleigh off the ground at the end.  That seems to be a common theme, I guess going all the way back to “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus” published in the newpaper every year since way before my time.  I want him to hold on to the magic, and to believe.  Its one of the few precious things kids have left these days, that belief in magic.

I love it when he asks how reindeer can fly, or how Santa climbs into the chimney.  He’s trying to figure out if Santa “sneaks” in, or just happens to stop by as we sleep.  He’s trying to figure out who is on the “naughty list” and who is on the “nice” list.  He’s been singing snippets of various mingled Christmas songs for the past week, which is SOOOO cute, and brought me a lanyard strung with beads and a jingle bell that he made at daycare himself.  I proudly wore it to the home improvement warehouse and the grocery store last night while he sang his own version of Jingle Bells.  And as he followed me through the dairy aisle, he asked me, “Mom, is Santa Claus real?”  “Why of course he is, sweetie.”  “Is Christmas Jesus’ birthday party?”  “It sure is.”  “And Jesus and Santa are in our hearts?”  “Yes they are, and they both love you very much.”  “I love Jesus, too, Mom.”  *melt*

Wishing you and yours magic and love this season.

2 Comments

Filed under adoption, parenthood, things that make me smile

2 responses to “I Want a Talking Dog for Christmas

  1. Coco

    Oh, the mixed-up Christmas carols. Don’t you just luuuuurrrrrve those?

  2. MaM has learned,”Jingle bells, batman smells” from school this year. Awesome! I’m wondering how the discovery of Santa will go down in our house too. Enjoy the season! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

