Two Conversations

Woob has become such the little chatterbox these days…he NEVER stops and he’s pretty funny most of the time. We never know what’s going to comeout of his mouth next, and the topic can change so quickly your head spins.  Here are two conversations we had just at bathtime, all within a three minute period.

Woob: Mom is this my scr()tum?

Me:  Yep, sure is.

Woob:  I want to call it my udders, like on a cow.  Do boy cows have scr()tums?

Me:  Yes, I’m sure they do, but girl cows have udders.

Woob:  (very decidedly) Well, I have udders.

What a hoot that boy is!  Immediately following, I’m drying him off and he looks at me seriously.

Woob:  Who is YOUR daddy?

Me:  Pappaw is my daddy.

Woob:  I have two daddies.  (This is the first time he’s initiated discussion about firstdad).

Me:  Yes you do.

Woob:  (excitedly and with a huge grin) AND I have two moms! You’re my mommy and so is N.!!

Me:  How special that you have two mommies who love you very much. (big hugs and kisses)

He’s initiating adoption (AND body parts) discussion really often lately.  I’m glad he is, I think he’s just trying on the words for size and trying to understand how everyone fits together and make sense of it all.  I can’t imagine being a family that doesn’t tell a kiddo about their adoption (OR their body parts) until “they’re ready.”  I know people have their reasons and all, but it seems like having a head start and being able to layer all the information over time is so valuable in the long run.

7 Comments

Filed under adoptee, adoption, birthparents, growing up, motherhood, open adoption

7 responses to “Two Conversations

  1. Very interesting discussions for a little guy. I think it’s great.

  2. Marci

    Cameron has learned how to potty standing up. Now when I go, he asks if I am going to stand. I tell him I am not because I don’t have a p()nis. His response: “Yeah, Mama have a ‘gina. Cameron have a p()nis.”

    Cracks me up!

  3. thanksgivingmom

    Love these stories! And I agree 100% about the last part. 🙂

  4. You are so lucky. I am a mom and I was promised an open adoption. The aps don’t respond to me at all, and I just learned my daughter doesn’t even know she’s adopted. She’s 11. 😦

    • M.

      Oh, Heather…so sorry. I cannot fathom your daughter having to discover that (and she will) without the support of her family from a young age. AND of course, I’m sorry promises were broken to you. I just don’t get it.

      I feel VERY fortunate that N. is an active presence inour lives. I can only imagine how hard that must be for her at times, and know that there are no guarantees that things will always be this way…but for now, I feel Woob is very blessed.

    • Coco

      (((Heather)))

      I am so sorry.

  5. Coco

    The udders thing had me cracking up. Woob is a smart little guy.

Leave a Reply

