A BABY CHANGES EVERYTHING

The Christmas season is upon us, and too many things are swirling around. I’m in my car a lot between getting to and from work, Woob’s haircut, shopping over lunch hours, and the usual errands. I listen to the radio a lot and hear songs. This year, there’s a song from Faith Hill that puts me in tears every time. It gets me going on a few different levels. when I first heard it, I didn’t know it was a Christmas song, and I thought it was about a single girl getting pregnant (which it IS, but…), and that made me think about adoption from the perspective of the mother feeling like she must place. And I cried. Then as I listened and realized it was about the birth of Christ, and the hope that He brings to us, well, I cried. Then I started thinking about it in terms of my own role as a mother and the changes that my baby has brought to me, the renewal in my life. You guessed it, I cried. Here are the words:

Teenage girl much too young
Unprepared for what’s to come
A baby changes everything

Not a ring on her hand
All her dreams and all her plans
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

The man she loves she’s never touched
How will she keep his trust
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

And she cries
Ooh she cries
Oh ohhh…

She has to leave, go far away
Heaven knows she can’t stay
A baby changes everything

She can feel it’s coming soon
There’s no place there’s no room
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

And she cries
And she cries
Oh she cries

Shepherds all gather ’round
Up above the star shines down
A baby changes everything

Choir of angels sing
Glory to the newborn king
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything
Everything, everything, everything
Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah

My whole life has turned around
I was lost, but now I’m found
A baby changes everything, yeah
A baby changes everything

Heaven knows what people think of me as they see me driving around in my car. Some days, I’m a mess!

1 Comment

Filed under adoption

One response to “A BABY CHANGES EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

