Meet our New Twins! (And other weekend events)

We have two new additions to our household.  Last week our washer busted and Friday we purchased a new and lovely Whirlpool Duet Sport washer and dryer set.  The washer:  front load with an internal water heater for whiter whites and those tricky stains, and above all else, can handle washing a king sized comforter without breaking a sweat!  The poor dears have been working non-stop since Saturday night. 

Whirlpool WGD8500SR White w/Sterling Brght Accents Duet Sport(TM) ...

In other news, regarding another member of our household…mornings have gotten better.  We have instituted a new no-nonsense 8:30 bedtime.  Even a half hour more of sleep per night seems (so far…knock on wood, please) to make a huge difference to a certain pre-schooler we know.  For a few days straight we are back to 1’s and 2’s.  I’m a happy, happy mom.  I hear bluebirds.

Saturday, among lots of other things that happened, I took Woob to see his first movie.  He knows Madascar by heart forwards and backwards.  So we took him, with no small amount of trepidation, to see the sequel.  He did beautifully.  So, all you other Mothers of the Year…you’ll not condemn me for the fact that on Saturday, Woob’s lunch consisted of Twizzlers, Chocolate Covered Raisins, popcorn, a juice box, and milk…will you?  I can’t believe he didn’t throw up, but he did sit through the entire movie except for the 5 minutes we needed to walk the sugary jitters off.  (Mich, I think you’re onto something with the whole Halloween candy for breakfast thing…I mean, it GETS THE JOB DONE!) 

Just a cute side note:  Gloria is the hippo in the movie.  Last night as we began supper, I was so excited to eat a nice hot bowl of burgoo that I exclaimed, “Oh, glorious burgoo!”  To which Woob replied…wait for it…have you guessed it yet?   “Its NOT Gloria’s burgoo, its Mommy’s burgoo!” 

I do love that boy. Very Much.

And with that, I must go start a letter to his mom, N., whom I feel I’ve neglected so much the past month, and there are so many things to tell her.

3 Comments

Filed under adoption, motherhood, not much, things that make me smile

3 responses to “Meet our New Twins! (And other weekend events)

  1. We saw Mad. 2 too this weekend–Loved it! Glad the Woob enjoyed it–MAM sure did. And our mornings seem to have improved with the time change, which has encouraged an earlier bed time. P.S. I am lusting after your twins. Sigh.

  2. Congratulations! They’re beautiful. Sigh. A WHOLE COMFORTER? I have to take all my big things like that down to the MIL’s house to do. How wonderful….

    Is it one of those machines that requires the special detergent (what is that, HE?)

    Glad the mornings and bedtimes are going easier! Spread some of that luck over to marci, will ya? Her toddler seems to be going through whatever mine went through a few months ago…. Uck.

  3. Marci

    The twins are nice, huh? I don’t know what I did a year ago before mine came along.

    And yeah, bedtimes around here are not fun…

Leave a Reply

