Oh, What a Beautiful Morning…

…Or not.

Let me take a little informal poll here, since ’tis the season to cast your vote.  This one will be easier for you to choose.

For those families out there with toddler/preschoolers (2-4 years old), which of these best describes what mornings look like at your house?

  1. Easy, breezy.  My child wakes up and bluebirds start singing, the sun comes out, and I feel like breaking out in song.
  2. It may not be all rainbows, but usually we can keep things together long enough to get dressed, fed and out the door without breaking out in a sweat.
  3. Morning should be named a major Olympic event, given the vast athletic ability, strength and composure it takes to get my child up, dressed, fed and out the door with no one getting hurt.  I’m pretty sure that drinking at 8 a.m. is NOT such a bad idea.

Um..no reason, just wondering 😉

12 Comments

Filed under adoption, mamahood, motherhood, not much

12 responses to “Oh, What a Beautiful Morning…

  1. We are definetely a #2 here.

    Sorry you’re having a rough start to your day!

  2. M.

    Huh, wha? Oh, thanks, Andy–sorry, didn’t get right back to you because I was too busy DRINKING…um, orange juice. yes, I was drinking orange juice.

  3. LOL, as a mom of an 8 yo, 4 yo, and 3 yo – my vote is #3.

    And actually, the youngest two still aren’t dressed but they have been fed. I finally just had my breakfast… and I haven’t washed my hair in three days.

  4. On any given day, it could be 1, 2, or 3! I just never know what I’m going to get! Usually it’s #1 with Jack, except that 5am is waaay before the bluebirds are out. It’s #1 with Fin. And 2 or 3 with Shane.

  5. We’re usually a 2. We don’t have to get out the door, but I try to have school started by 9:00, so we do have that deadline. There are definitely days that school is done in pajamas, though.

  6. Min

    See, the problem is that if we really answer #1 or #2, we might just encourage you in that early morning drinking! *grin* Just kidding…

    My answer usually varies between 2 and 3.

  7. Ummm I think we’re a 2. Just depends on the day. Typically, he’ll wake up all sunshiny (except for a brief 6:30 am wakeup by the trash truck where he wails for me “twash twuck, Mommy!!!”, I go in an rub his back, then he goes back to sleep until it’s time to wake up…….

    If we have to rush him to get dressed, eat , go somewhere- it’s anyone’s guess as to how things will go!

  8. I’d say #2. But that’s an average. What happens more often is that child A wakes up and s/he and I have some blissful #1 time together. Then child B wakes up and the morning is shot to #3 hell.

  9. We fluctuate between #2 and #3. I’ve been reduced to bribing her to do things by LETTING HER HAVE HALLOWEEEN CANDY FOR BREAKFAST. There I said it. It’s true. Today one of my kiddos at school told me her mom gives her a quarter every day that she dresses herself. I may start going the money route–she loves money and it will save her teeth. Seriously, the week my mom was here she could NOT believe how ridiculous our mornings can be. It does make the good mornings stand out and I appreciate them all the more…

  10. M.

    Mich–for your response alone…I LOVE YOU. I needed to hear every word of that.

  11. We go back and forth between 2 & 3 in our household. It’s very, very rare that we experience #1. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Meet our New Twins! (And other weekend events) « Letters to a Birthmother

Leave a Reply

