Ten Years Ago…

Marci “memed” me last week, and I never got past the first question, “What were you doing ten years ago?”

Wow, was I in a different place, on so many levels.  In the fall of 1998, I had just started my Master’s program.  I had been married for five years, had been working for six years in my chosen profession, five years at that place of employment.

You see, we had been “trying” on the baby front for, say, three years by that time.  And just beginning to realize that something was really wrong.  I remember very clearly several months earlier saying to my friend/supervisor, that if the baby thing didn’t happen by “x” then I’d be applying to grad school for the 1998 cohort.  Of course, as we all know NOW, the baby thing didn’t happen by the ascribed date, and I had backed myself into the grad school corner that I never thought I’d ever do.

And you know what?  It was good.  It was hard.  But my focus was on school for the most part, and I made connections, and got (a little bit) smarter, and I grew so much professionally.  Graduation came and went in 2000, and it allowed me to move almost immediately into a new, way more fun for awhile job, which led me to where I am working today.  THIS job, has offered me the benefits of flexible time and good pay that I needed to explore areas of my infertility, but most importantly, our adoption. 

Maybe it would have eventually happened anyway, in another way at another time, but I really believe that 10 years ago, there was a decisive moment that brought me to this place where I am a mother.

1 Comment

Filed under adoption, motherhood, not much, reflection

One response to “Ten Years Ago…

  1. Marci

    Isn’t it ironic how we can look back at some of the lowest points in our lives and now be thankful for them? Had I gotten pregnant when I began trying, I would not have my boys. It makes me so thankful that I faced infertility.

Leave a Reply

