Uncle2Roo

I think I mentioned somewhere way back in a previous post about Woob’s special uncle.  He lives hours and hours away and a few years ago, just months before Woob was born, he was diagnosed with a form of liver cancer.  He’s been through all the normal treatments at the best hospitals that treat it.  He’s been through chemo and radiation with mixed results.  He’s gone on to some of the newest and state-of-the-art procedures and treatments there are, with less than stellar outcomes.  For the better part of the past year, I guess, he’s been on experimental trials as a last resort, that has been somewhat holding the tumors at bay, but in the meantime, they are still there, they are wreaking havoc on his whole system, and along with the meds he’s taking for the treatment and the meds he’s taking for the pain, he has become a very sick person.  A 50 something bachelor, formerly robust, active, and strong, just a year ago building large, fine homes, dating women and doing pretty much whatever he wanted, whenever he wanted, is now on disability, has no “people” to speak of, and is losing so much weight from the constant vomiting and diarrhea that he’s down to 120 pounds.  He’s confused from the lack of electrolytes and malnutrition and the effects of his medication.  As if that wasn’t enough, he was diagnosed earlier this week with an 8 cm abscess on his liver which hopefully was treated yesterday in a way that the infection won’t spread.  There’s more I could tell, but what’s the point.  Bottom line is, things are bad and its not fair and I fear that soon, Woob will be missing his special uncle, his namesake, and someone who loves him so much.

Please, pray, send positive energy…whatever you think will help.  There are family members who flew out yesterday to be with him and our hopes are soon we’ll be moving him here, even though he has been against that for so long.  I want him to know there are people around him, I want him to have someone able to check on him every day.  I don’t want him to be alone at the end, if indeed, the end is near.

5 Comments

Filed under adoption, grief

5 responses to “Uncle2Roo

  1. oh M., I hate cancer. Sending prayers his way. Hope you can be with him soon.

  2. Marci

    Oh M- Call me if there is anything I can do. Need a meal? Someone to watch Woob? A distraction? (We could meet at the mall one evening or weekend.) I am merely a phone call, or e-mail away.

    I will keep him in my thoughts and prayers. And I will keep the rest of the family there as well!

  3. I’ve wondered about him off and on, but didn’t want to ask….

    Thanks for the update. Will up my prayers for him!

  4. Wait? How can your post say August 1st, but it is still only Jly 31st?

    Is that a PC thing – time isn’t right? Or a wordpress problem???

  5. M.

    Thanks guys. He’s supposed to be in the hospital for the next week or more recovering from yesterday’s surgery.

    Marci–no time for distraction, but thanks! things seem to be coming at us from all angles and we are running as fast as we can to just tread water (visit with N. this weekend, we’re in a wedding next weekend out of town, work deadlines are TENSE. Hopefully we can get together when things settle down.

    Stork–I think my wordpress settings are inaccurate–not their fault, but mine. I’ve never been able to get it quite right.

Leave a Reply

