Before and After

Three Years Ago on a Day Off Work:

I’m off work for the day, Cha-Ching!  Open my left eye just long enough to confirm that my alarm won’t go off unnecessarily.  Sleep til 10am.  Get up and eat a bowl of cereal while watching “The View.”  Maybe read the paper.  Shower and put on sweats.  Do a load of laundry.  Take a nap while listening to the tv tuned to either a soap opera or “A Baby Story.”  Wake up in time to eat a quick lunch and watch another episode of “A Baby Story.”  Read a book or goof around on the internet.  MAYBE do another load of laundry or the dishes.  Doze off until I realize that hubby will be home soon and see that I’ve done nothing all day.  Start dinner and look busy as he walks through the door.

Today on my Day Off Work:

I’ve been looking forward to this day for weeks!  Wake up at 6:30 instead of my usual 5:45 (yay!  I got to sleep in!).  Run a comb through my hair, go start a load of laundry and get Woob’s clothes and milk ready.  Get the boy up and dressed.  Pull out all my tricks to get him to sit on my lap and look at books while he drinks his milk.  Convince him to get his coat on so he can go to daycare.  Take little dude to daycare, because that is the only way I’ll get ANYTHING done today. Go straight to Wal-Fart to pick up a birthday card for N., various household organization items, and things I forgot at the grocery store two days ago, all the while relishing the freedom to walk down any aisle I want and take as long as I want doing it because I’m not on schedule, nor do I have a toddler attempting to climb out of the cart or demand that I somehow push the cart without touching the cart because only he can touch the cart (sigh).  Go home, and eat a quick breakfast, while checking out what’s going on online and listening to Regis and Kelly.  Do a quick scan of the house, putting things where they go as I move along.  Clean the bathroom, do a nother load of laundry, load the dishwasher, sort through various outgrown baby clothes and toys to load up for storage or Goodwill.  Clean out the “crap” room that has been loading up with bits and pieces of various junk that goes nowhere else.  Willy nilly throwing away of anything and everything I can get away with.  Vacuum, dust.  Mop the kitchen floor (oh, my poor, poor floors…)  and shampoo the carpets.  Take a quick bite of lunch and cruise around online again.  Shower.  Start supper.  Go through bills and finances (oh, my poor, poor finances…).  Go get the boy from daycare, feeling guilty that I sent him there on my day off at all.

6 Comments

Filed under adoption, mamahood, not much

6 responses to “Before and After

  1. Ah, M., no guilt, please! Think about how much healthier the food he’ll eat off the floor will be now that they are clean!!(kidding) Seriously, I do this on occasion too,and I *try* to leave the guilt at the door. Today we are home together though–MAM’s got a nasty cold and fever, which is no fun. At least being sick on a holiday saves me a day off.

  2. one more thing….I just tagged you for a meme!

  3. Oh Em,

    You just made me laugh out loud. My husband had to see what was so funny. Chuckle-inducing, indeed.

    The line?
    “… demand that I somehow push the cart without touching the cart because only he can touch the cart (sigh).”

    Oh, been there, sistah. Been there.

    And as a random aside, I’ve been In The Zone recently, getting rid of things and loving the “lighter” house. Loving it. Ever use freecycle.org? Keeps the “stuff” we don’t want anymore from the garbage and sitting in a landfill. Someone else in my area wants it .. and they’re willing to pick it up from my front steps? Yeah, I am all about that. Buh-bye stuff. Hello,
    s p a c e. (And the folks leaving with my stuff in their cars? Pleased as punch. Or pie. Or whatever that saying is. OK, so no one even says that anymore anyway. Rrrright.) And even the environment’s happy too.

    Oh, so … any update from your previous post?
    🙂

  4. M.

    Glad I made you laugh G! I will look into the freecycle thing–sounds cool.

    Regarding my previous post? Which one? If about baby J, I’ve seen pics and she is beeyuuuteful! No visit planned specifically yet. If its the one about giving Woob a sib…we’re on hold…see here: http://schmertile.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/oh-now-i-remember/

  5. WHAAAAA? You shampooed carpets? In one day? A day in which you did a multitude of other things?

    You’re my idol, man… Just like Wonder Woman….

  6. M.

    Haha, Amy, don’t worry, it only happens once every…we’ll it never happens. You cracked me up because even though I’ve never heard your voice, I can hear your voice getting all high pitched in your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

