Newly Published Book re: Adoption

One small perk of being in some sort of management position in a small social svc. agency is that I can sometimes decide what books I really need to keep up to date on things and help educate others (both peers and clients), and I don’t have to pay for them myself 🙂

So I ordered the newly published (2007) Handbook of Adoption:  Implications for Researchers, Practitioners, and Families.  Written by Javier, Baden, Biafora, and Camacho-Gingerich, and put out by Sage Publications.  Hope I noted the reference properly…its been awhile since I had to do a bibliography. 

Anyhoo, I got the book on my desk this morning, and its a big one.  Large paperback with over 500 pages of REALLY small print.  So, obviously I haven’t actually READ the book yet.  But I’m browsing and intrigued by what I see.  The index lists some of the usual adoption type topics, but includes large sections to include Training and Education for Adoption Therapy Competence, Research in Adoption Work, and Assessment and Treatment Issues in Adoption.  Chapters deal with each member set in the triad, but it appears to heavily acknowledge the experience of first parents and adoptees. 

Some things I find hopeful are that it asks questions about why university social work/counseling programs DON’T discuss adoption issues (It was NEVER discussed in either my BSW or MSW curriculum), it acknowleges a real lack of research about the adoptee and first parent experiences, especially with today’s adoption climate being so different than in past years, and it ends with a call to action for the future of adoption with specific things that need to be done and learned for the impact of adoption to be learned and understood by everyone involved.

I’ll let you know what I think as I use it for reference both personally and professionally.  If you have any insights, feel free to share them.

4 Comments

Filed under adoption

4 responses to “Newly Published Book re: Adoption

  1. Oooh. I like having my own personal book reviewer. Please let us know your thoughts.

  2. Ah, very cool! I’ll check this title out; maybe it’s one I can order for our library.

  3. I’ll look forward to hearing what you think. I’m loving your blog, by the way.

  4. I’m interested in this book…pending your review:) Does that make me lazy, since you’re doing all the hard work? Anyway, thanks for your encouraging comment on my blog this morning – definitely appreciated.

Leave a Reply

